Acklam Whin Marvelous Me App
Header Image


A child’s school career at Lingfield is split up into three distinct phases.

The Foundation Stage

  • Nursery
  • Reception

Key Stage One                   

  • Year 1
  • Year 2

Key Stage Two  

  • Year 3
  • Year 4
  • Year 5
  • Year 6

The Foundation Stage

Within the foundation stage are seven areas of learning; these are split up into three prime areas and four specific areas.

The Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These areas form the foundation of all learning that takes place in school.

Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2

As children move from Reception to Year 1 and until they leave us at the end of Year 6 we follow the National Curriculum.  The National Curriculum is divided into core subjects and foundation Subjects.

The core subjects are:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science

The foundation subjects are;

  • Computing
  • Art
  • History
  • Geography
  • Design and Technology
  • PE
  • Music

We also teach French, Personal Social, Health and Citizenship Education and R.E.

in Year 6 we deliver the Archbishop of York Youth Trust Leadership Award. The award is an exciting and interactive programme where pupils learn about key leadership skills, grow in character and have practical opportunities to volunteer and help others in their community.  It encourages our young people to be the change they want to see.

Privacy Policy